top of page

ISM Weekly Report 8

This week in ISM, I was able to complete another research assessment, but this time regarding the ever-expanding subtopic of minimally invasive cardiac surgery. The article, "Minimally Invasive Heart Surgery", is an informational piece that was published by the Mayo Clinic in Cleveland. This is one of the top hospitals in the United States and can be trusted for informational purposes like this. The article began with the literal definition of the concept of minimally invasive surgery. I actually learned that not only involved a tiny insition, and doesn't require the breaking of a single bone in the whole process. Then it listed out the various pros and cons of the procedure and in what cases it can be used. To my surprise, there are only a few procedures that actually allow for minimally invasive cardiac surgery to be utilized. But the pros greatly out weighted the cons because all the cons were also present during the open heart procedures as well. This quite literally makes this form better in almost every way possible. Lastly one of the main takeaways I had from the article is the fact that robotics and medicine are only getting closer. Minimally invasive surgery enlists the assistance of a multitude of robots in a lot of the situations. It makes the results a lot more precise while making the jobs of the surgeons easier, and also allowing the patients to have a quicker and easier recovery. This makes me want to learn more about it and makes minimally invasive cardiac surgery one of the most interesting aspects of Cardiothoracic Surgery.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ISM Weekly Blog 16

This week in ISM, I have been on spring break for a few days now but I had a meaningful mentor visit on Wednesday. Some good news from the BPA State competition is the fact that my team made nationals

ISM Weekly Blog 15

This week in ISM, it was a very short week for me due to BPA State. This caused me to only have one class day to work, but I had planned around this event ahead of time. In the one B day class period

ISM Weekly Report 14

This week in ISM, I started and completed the final product proposal necessary for ISM. I was able to plan out the whole product and explain the plan in detail in the proposal. To more into detail let

bottom of page