top of page

ISM Weekly Report 5

Updated: Nov 5, 2018

This week in ISM, I finished contacting all the doctors on my mentor list, we had our Business Symposium, and I received a few calls back from potential mentors. To Begin the week I completely finished calling all the mentors on the list. In the previous week, I went through the list and contacted roughly 15 of the Cardiothoracic surgeons each from a different hospital. This week I contacted the remaining Cardiothoracic surgeons in hopes of getting an interview, and through this attempt, I have received a few email address and a few secretaries have told me they would incur with the surgeons themselves. Overall I am very hopeful of getting an interview or two from any of the professions on the list. Next this week we had our annual ISM business symposium. This was a great opportunity that gave me the chance to see and meet a lot of new people. I had the opportunity to network with a few professionals prior to my interviews and this was one of the most valuable parts of the whole experience. I had the ability to meet professionals in many fields like finance, education, software creation, manufacturing, etc. I was also able to meet a lot of fellow ISM students researching a plethora of fields and even a few second-year ISM students that helped clarify a lot of my questions for me. Along with this, a big part of the business symposium were the interviews I had. This just gave me a good feel for what it was like to interview a complete stranger and figure out how to make a comfortable conversation out of it, and this has greatly increased my confidence on interviewers for the future. Finally, we had the opportunity to meet an entrepreneur and have a presentation done by him regarding how to identify our goals in life and how to achieve them through hard work. More than the information I acquired, I was able to meet the CEO of Texas Textiles and get the opportunity to converse with him and get advice and the ability for future advice regarding my clothing brand PUBLIC. Lastly, for this week, I began getting a few responses from the previous weeks calls to Cardiothoracic surgeons. I got about 7 calls back from the various secretaries of surgeons requesting me to send in an email regarding my actual intent for contacting them. This gave me the opportunity to give them a detailed explanation of my purpose and the whole ISM program. Alongside these I got a 3 doctors saying that this isn't the type of time commitment they can endure. Hopefully, I will have the chance to have a few interviews scheduled within the next 2 weeks, and I am definitely looking forward to hearing back from all the Cardiothoracic surgeons I have contacted.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ISM Weekly Blog 16

This week in ISM, I have been on spring break for a few days now but I had a meaningful mentor visit on Wednesday. Some good news from the BPA State competition is the fact that my team made nationals

ISM Weekly Blog 15

This week in ISM, it was a very short week for me due to BPA State. This caused me to only have one class day to work, but I had planned around this event ahead of time. In the one B day class period

ISM Weekly Report 14

This week in ISM, I started and completed the final product proposal necessary for ISM. I was able to plan out the whole product and explain the plan in detail in the proposal. To more into detail let

bottom of page