top of page

ISM Weekly Report 1

In ISM this week, I had the opportunity to learn even more about the field of Cardiothoracic Surgery. Through my second research assessment I was able to choose from a plethora of scholarly research regarding my desired field. At first I struggled to find a good article with content that interested me, but then this is when I stumbled upon an article called "Cardiac Surgery and the Future", written by David Yaffee and Mathew Williams. I found this article through my desire to see what awaits me in my future, If I were to go down the path of cardiac surgery. The article discusses the current state of Cardiothoracic Surgery and what its trending towards in the future. I was able to learn that, surprisingly, Cardiothoracic Surgery is viewed to be in a decline as of right now. With less invasive procedures the core concept of open heart surgery is becoming less and less viable. However, due to technological advancements, a more efficient way to do a procedure with less effort for the doctor, and an easier recovery for the patients is being made. Especially in terms of functional mitral regurgitation (FMR), less invasive to non-invasive methods are gaining more support. Not only to mention the increased use of 3D printed organs in the world of medicine is causing a revival in the field. All these aspect of Cardiothoracic Surgery are peaking my interest, primarily with the usage of 3D printed organs in the chest and lungs. Though, I do still wonder if there is an over saturation of cardiac surgeons in the industry due to the early boom of heart health issues, how long it is going to take for 3D printing to become widely adopted in medicine, and if robotics will eventually take over complete control of surgery? I also constructed a few interview questions to use during any possible interviews in order to assist me in the journey of finding a mentor. This all has made my first few week of ISM very beneficial.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ISM Weekly Blog 16

This week in ISM, I have been on spring break for a few days now but I had a meaningful mentor visit on Wednesday. Some good news from the BPA State competition is the fact that my team made nationals

ISM Weekly Blog 15

This week in ISM, it was a very short week for me due to BPA State. This caused me to only have one class day to work, but I had planned around this event ahead of time. In the one B day class period

ISM Weekly Report 14

This week in ISM, I started and completed the final product proposal necessary for ISM. I was able to plan out the whole product and explain the plan in detail in the proposal. To more into detail let

bottom of page